Domestic Assault and battery in Okmulgee is more common than people realize. An argument between family members starts out as a simple disagreement that cane spiral out of control. In Oklahoma, a charge of domestic abuse is not treated the same as regular assault and battery. In the statute for assault and battery, the crime for unwanted force or violence in the more private and intimate sense is defined as “domestic abuse”. It is crucial that you seek legal counsel if you think you could face accusations of a domestic assault and battery. An incident of domestic violence can carry a wide range of penalties in Oklahoma. Furthermore, Oklahoma has special punishments for domestic abusers who have shown a prior pattern of physical abuse.
Domestic Assault and Battery is Domestic Abuse
There is a separate provision in the statute for assault and battery that protects victims of domestic abuse. Assault and battery against a current or former spouse are just some of the ways to be guilty of domestic abuse in Oklahoma. Unwanted and forceful contact against a boyfriend, girlfriend, or house mate can violate 21 O.S. § 644. Furthermore, 21 O.S. § 644 is currently being amended to more simply define victims of domestic abuse as an “intimate partner or a family or household member”.
Penalties for Domestic Abuse charge
Oklahoma takes domestic abuse charges seriously. The punishments for a domestic assault, or domestic abuse can be a 1-year prison sentence, a fine up to $5,000, or both a fine and imprisonment. If you are a repeat offender, your punishment can include imprisonment for up to 4 years in the custody of the Department of Corrections, a fine of up to $5000, or both. If you have been charged with domestic abuse in Oklahoma, it is imperative that you get the assistance of a qualified attorney.
Prior Patterns of Physical Abuse
If it is established that you have a history of domestic violence described in § 644, you can face harsher penalties. A prior pattern of domestic assault can mean two or more separate incidents, which could include the one you are being charged for currently. The punishments under this situation include imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections for a term of up to ten (10) years or a fine not exceeding $5,000. You can also receive both a fine and prison term. The knowledge and assistance of a criminal defense attorney in Okmulgee is vital if the courts have become involved in your charge.
Charged With Assault and Battery in Okmulgee
Assault and battery is a serious offense, especially when classified as domestic abuse. Getting a skilled and persistent attorney to advocate your side can mean the difference between a prison sentence and a dismissal of all charges. Additionally, convictions for this kind of crime can stay on your record and cast a negative light on you as a person. This kind of crime can cause you to loose job opportunists and other benefits associated with not having a criminal record. If you’ve been charged with a crime feel free to call Okmulgee lawyers to have a criminal defense confidential consultation